IEEE Hyderabad Section is one of the most active sections of IEEE in India. IEEE was formally introduced in Hyderabad, in June 1981, when a group of engineers in Hyderabad decided to form an IEEE sub-Section here. This sub-Section was rapidly elevated to a full Section, in 1984 (the year of IEEE Centenary celebrations).
All IEEE members, residing in the state of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, India, are automatically members of the IEEE Hyderabad Section. Our strength (in numbers) is 3707 members (as on 09 Feb. 2010). The section has NINE chapters – Computer Society (CS), Communication/SP Societies, Computational Intelligence/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Societies, CAS/EDS, Education Society, MTT/AP/EMC Societies, PES/IAS/PELS, Photonics Society, Technology and Engineering Management Society chapters.